UMass Memorial Health, Worcester — financial forensics dossier
Research cut-off: July 14, 2026
Primary question: Is UMass Memorial Health “broke,” and what recurring financial choices could be examined if Worcester nurses seek better staffing and pay?
Verdict: The public evidence does not support insolvency or “broke.” It supports a more nuanced conclusion: UMass Memorial Health is a large, investment-grade nonprofit system with substantial liquidity and positive total results, but very thin or negative operating margins in several periods, large academic-service obligations, debt, high public-payer exposure, and capital commitments. The real issue is priority-setting and disclosure, not proof of hidden cash or fraud.
This is a public-record review, not an audit or legal finding. A spending category is not “waste” merely because it is large. Items below are labeled as confirmed facts, estimates, scrutiny candidates, or unresolved questions.
1. Scope lock: four different entities appear in the records
| Scope |
What it means |
Identifier / period |
Why it matters |
| UMass Memorial Health Care, Inc. and affiliates |
Consolidated health system |
Audited FY2024; CHIA HHS Org ID 6755 |
Includes hospitals, medical group and other affiliates. Best view of system liquidity, debt and investments. |
| UMass Memorial Medical Center, Inc. |
Worcester flagship hospital |
CMS CCN 220163; CHIA Org ID 3115 in current databook |
Best view of Worcester hospital operations, quality and facility margin. |
| University and Memorial campuses |
Campuses within the Worcester medical center |
CHIA legacy campus IDs 131 and 130; CMS currently reports the University Campus under CCN 220163 |
Do not add their figures to system totals unless the source says they are separate. |
| IRS group return |
Tax reporting group |
EIN 91-2155626, FY ending September 2024 |
Group-return scope differs from audited consolidation. A difference is not automatically a discrepancy. |
Legally separate: UMass Chan Medical School / the University of Massachusetts is not the hospital. The organizations have long-term affiliation, occupancy and academic-service contracts.
2. Executive conclusion: is the system broke?
Evidence against a “broke” claim
- FY2024 consolidated assets were $3.950 billion and net assets were $1.734 billion.
- Financial assets available for general expenditure within one year were $1.423 billion, including $526.0 million cash, $376.3 million short-term investments, and receivables.
- The system also held $748.6 million of long-term investments. Management said these could be sold when redemption terms are met, although it did not intend to spend from them.
- FY2024 produced $25.2 million operating income, $161.6 million nonoperating investment return, and $183.5 million excess of revenues over expenses.
- Unrestricted cash used in the bond calculation was $1.651 billion, or 159.3 days cash on hand.
- Fitch affirmed A- / Stable in December 2025; S&P continued BBB+ / Stable through early 2026. Those are investment-grade ratings, not distress ratings.
- In a 2025 state capital review, UMass Memorial said funds had already been set aside for approved capital projects. The independent review cited approximately $1.66 billion in cash and short-term investments and an eight-year average projection of about $1.63 billion.
Evidence of genuine financial pressure
- FY2024 audited operating margin was only about 0.6%. CHIA's standardized system calculation was -2.3%, while nonoperating income lifted total margin to 4.1%.
- In the six months through March 31, 2026, CHIA reported a $37.2 million system operating loss (-1.29%), but $53.5 million total surplus (1.86%) after nonoperating results.
- The Worcester Medical Center itself was almost break-even in that period: $2.0 million operating profit (0.12%) and $6.8 million total surplus (0.40%) on $1.694 billion total revenue.
- FY2024 debt was $754.5 million before the 2025 bond financing. The post-issuance bond statement showed approximately $1.009 billion of issued obligations.
- The system owed the University $297.3 million at FY2024 year-end, mostly for medical-education services.
- The Worcester hospital had a 0.9 current ratio in FY2024 and 0.84 in the six months through March 2026—meaning current liabilities exceeded current assets at that hospital entity even while the system had stronger consolidated liquidity.
- Public payers were 67.8% of the Worcester hospital payer mix; CHIA calculated Medicaid revenue at only 80 cents per dollar of cost in FY2024.
Plain-language verdict
UMass Memorial is not broke in the ordinary meaning of the word. It can pay bills, borrow at investment-grade rates, hold substantial cash and investments, fund capital projects and produce overall surpluses. But it is also not sitting on $1.4 billion of spare payroll cash: that liquidity includes receivables and money needed for payroll, vendors, debt, construction, pensions, reserves and other obligations. The evidence supports asking why recurring funds are allocated the way they are, not claiming every asset can immediately become wages.
3. Latest financial trail
Consolidated audited system — FY2024
| Measure |
FY2024 |
Interpretation |
| Operating revenue |
$4.301B |
Recurring health-system operations |
| Operating expenses |
$4.276B |
Labor, supplies, purchased services, depreciation and other operating costs |
| Operating income |
$25.2M |
Thin 0.6% audited operating margin |
| Net investment return, nonoperating |
$161.6M |
Market-dependent; not equivalent to recurring operating cash |
| Excess of revenue over expenses |
$183.5M |
Overall surplus before other net-asset changes |
| Increase in unrestricted net assets |
$65.0M |
Final unrestricted balance-sheet improvement |
| Total assets |
$3.950B |
Includes cash, investments, receivables and buildings/equipment |
| Total liabilities |
$2.216B |
Includes debt, pension/lease obligations, payables and amounts due to University |
| Total net assets |
$1.734B |
Assets minus liabilities; not a cash account |
| Financial assets available within one year |
$1.423B |
Broad liquidity measure, including receivables |
| Long-term investments |
$748.6M |
Generally marketable/redemption-dependent; management says not intended for routine spending |
Current state snapshot — six months through March 31, 2026
| Entity |
Operating result |
Total result |
Current ratio |
Net assets/equity |
| UMass Memorial Health Care system |
-$37.2M (-1.29%) |
+$53.5M (1.86%) |
1.55 |
$1.937B |
| UMass Memorial Medical Center |
+$2.0M (0.12%) |
+$6.8M (0.40%) |
0.84 |
$291.7M |
The system's nonoperating income again turned an operating loss into a total surplus. That is evidence of financial capacity, but also of dependence on nonoperating sources.
Why the 990 looks different
The FY2024 IRS group return reports $4.158 billion revenue, $4.110 billion expenses, $48.1 million net income, $3.220 billion assets and $796.2 million net assets. These do not match the audited system totals because the reporting perimeter and accounting presentation differ. The proper next step is a legal-entity reconciliation—not an accusation.
4. Investments, liquidity and private funds
FY2024 fair-value investments totaled about $1.417 billion:
| Investment class |
Fair value |
| Mutual funds |
$336.4M |
| Common stocks |
$313.1M |
| Commingled funds |
$229.5M |
| Cash equivalents in investment portfolio |
$212.5M |
| Private equity funds |
$135.4M |
| Bonds and notes |
$134.7M |
| Hedge funds |
$55.8M |
- Unfunded private-equity commitments were $66.6 million.
- Private-equity fund interests were described as illiquid and not redeemable on demand.
- Commingled and hedge funds generally had redemption within one year, with up to 90 days' notice.
- Equity-method health joint ventures were valued at $96.7 million, produced $24.4 million FY2024 income and distributed $18.1 million.
- A pharmacy-management joint-venture sale generated a $273.7 million gain in FY2023.
Important distinction: the system investing in private-equity funds is not evidence that private equity owns UMass Memorial.
5. Workforce: permanent nurses versus temporary nurses
What is public
- At September 30, 2024, excluding Milford, the system reported about 18,200 employees, 14,900 FTEs, 2,800 per-diem employees, 4,400 RNs and 270 LPNs.
- Including Milford, it reported about 20,700 employees, 16,600 FTEs, 3,300 per-diem employees, 4,900 RNs and 320 LPNs.
- The Worcester Medical Center had 8,752 total FTEs in FY2024.
- Current Worcester MNA bargaining units include roughly 1,575 University Campus RNs and 1,365 Memorial/Hahnemann RNs—about 2,940 union nurses in the two units.
- In 2024 the system said FTEs grew 5.2% and hires exceeded separations by roughly 1,100.
What is not public
No reviewed filing states the number of agency/travel nurses on a particular date, the nurse-only portion of temporary labor, average agency bill rates, required fill counts, or the Vaya contract term. Therefore:
- Permanent RN count: approximately 4,400 systemwide excluding Milford (not all necessarily full-time; this is an employee count).
- Temporary nurse count: not publicly disclosed.
- It is not defensible to divide agency dollars by an assumed bill rate and present the result as a confirmed headcount.
Temporary staffing spend trend
| Fiscal year |
System temporary labor spend |
| FY2022 |
$163.6M |
| FY2023 |
$126.0M |
| FY2024 |
$91.1M |
That is a 44% reduction from FY2022 to FY2024, consistent with management's stated conversion of temporary contractors into permanent employees.
UMass Memorial also testified that it spent $149 million on traveler positions in calendar 2022, up from $62 million in 2021; vacancies fell from 1,889 at the start of FY2023 to 832, and first-half 2023 traveler spending in priority positions was $7.2 million.
6. Vaya Workforce Solutions / Aya Healthcare contract
- The FY2024 group 990 lists Vaya Workforce Solutions LLC — $102,349,144 as the largest independent contractor.
- Vaya is an Aya Healthcare subsidiary and operates as a managed-service / vendor-management intermediary with access to multiple staffing suppliers.
- The 990 payment is not the same measure as the audited $91.1 million temporary-labor expense. It may include pass-through clinician pay, non-nurse labor, timing differences, fees, or a different entity perimeter.
- The reviewed public records do not disclose the contract's initial date, renewal term, yearly/long-term structure, committed nurse count, guaranteed fill rate, rate card, markup, cancellation rights or nurse-hours supplied.
- Aya is privately held. The reviewed primary records do not establish its current beneficial owners or prove private-equity control. It should be labeled private vendor; ownership financing unresolved, not automatically “PE-owned.”
Exact records needed
- Master services agreement and every amendment.
- Statement of work, rate card, markup and conversion fees.
- Monthly invoices split by RN/LPN/allied/nonclinical labor.
- Unique workers, shifts, hours, cancellations and facility/unit.
- Supplier-level pass-through payments and Vaya's retained fee.
- Competitive procurement, bid scoring and conflict disclosures.
7. Nurse bargaining and safety context
- In March 2026, MNA said approximately 1,575 University Campus nurses and 1,365 Memorial/Hahnemann nurses had been bargaining for nearly a year.
- On July 1, 2026, 99% of voting University Campus RNs authorized a possible 14-day strike. As of this research cut-off, authorization was not a strike date.
- MNA described the main issues as staffing, workplace violence/safety, charge-nurse assignments, patient limits, retention and competitive wages.
- UMass Memorial's strike-preparedness page says it would hire a replacement-nurse agency if a strike occurs, but does not name the agency or disclose price or headcount.
- The prior 2022 contracts reportedly included three-year wage patterns of 5% + 5% + 4%, five-percent spacing between steps, patient limits in many areas, pension terms and health coverage provisions. Current complete wage tables and both sides' current proposals were not found in the public record reviewed.
8. Executive compensation
FY2024 group-return compensation for CEO Eric W. Dickson, MD:
| Component |
Amount |
| Base compensation |
$1,562,653 |
| Bonus / incentive |
$1,847,395 |
| Other reportable compensation |
$28,711 |
| Retirement / deferred compensation |
$421,605 |
| Nontaxable benefits |
$54,972 |
| Total |
$3,915,336 |
Reported total compensation rose from $2.430 million in 2019 to $3.915 million in 2024, a 61.1% increase. This is a legitimate governance and bargaining comparison, but reducing one executive's pay would not by itself finance a systemwide wage settlement.
9. Academic payments, grants and lobbying
University / UMass Chan relationship
FY2024 transactions with the University totaled about $494.6 million, including:
- Medical education services: $310.5M
- Salaries, benefits and contracted labor: $115.5M
- Purchased services: $28.1M
- Annual fee: $23.1M
- Rent: $10.3M
- Academic Investment Fund: $7.1M
These are contractual academic and occupancy costs, not proven waste. Their scale makes the formulas, service deliverables and settlement timing appropriate subjects for public scrutiny.
FY2024 Schedule I cash grants
- UMass Chan Medical School: $7.1M Academic Investment Fund
- Family Health Center of Worcester: $1.0M
- Edward M. Kennedy Community Health Center: $1.0M
- American Heart Association: $25,000
- Physician Health Services: $17,500
- Employee emergency-assistance grants: $41,805 to 28 recipients
Lobbying-related association dues
The 990 reports $222,850 of lobbying expenses embedded in association dues, principally Massachusetts Health & Hospital Association ($116,874) and American Hospital Association ($61,802). This is a disclosure item, not evidence of improper political activity.
10. Community benefit and public support
Community benefit claimed on FY2024 Schedule H
| Category |
Net community benefit |
| Financial assistance at cost |
$12.1M |
| Medicaid shortfall |
$144.6M |
| Community health improvement / operations |
$2.5M |
| Health professions education |
$167.6M |
| Subsidized health services |
$7.8M |
| Cash and in-kind contributions |
$3.6M |
| Total claimed net community benefit |
$338.1M (8.23% of expense) |
The audited system statement separately estimated $58.2 million of charity-care cost and $8.1 million of Health Safety Net reimbursement in FY2024. These figures use different definitions; they should not be substituted for one another.
Government and public funding identified
- Medicaid Supplemental Funding recognized in FY2024 patient revenue: $457.0M; cash-flow discussion references approximately $415M received.
- FEMA reimbursement recognized in FY2024: $41.0M.
- Government and other grants in FY2024 operating revenue: $32.8M.
- A Massachusetts audit reviewed $6.2M of EOHHS grants and $25.36M across 15 MEMA/FEMA grants.
The MEMA/FEMA sample was found compliant. The EOHHS grant produced a disputed documentation finding described below.
11. Capital projects, real estate and debt
- The system spent approximately $623 million on capital projects during FY2021–FY2024.
- FY2024 capital expenditure was approximately $210.9 million.
- The 2025 Series N bond issue totaled $342.195 million, with about $273.698 million for a project fund, $95.935 million for Milford debt repayment/refunding, and $3.541 million for issuance/underwriter costs. The project definition covers acquisition, expansion, remodeling, renovation, equipment and electronic medical records; the official statement did not fully itemize the project-fund allocation.
- UMass Memorial bought and renovated the former Beaumont rehabilitation property into the North Pavilion, adding 72 Worcester inpatient beds.
- A 2025 Department of Public Health review described a proposed Marlborough proton-therapy project. The reviewed independent analysis estimated about $59.4 million in project capital expenditure and approximately $1.88 billion in total routine/major capital spending over FY2025–FY2032.
- The same filing names Consigli Construction Co., Inc. as the schematic-design estimate preparer and Mevion as the proton-therapy system supplier.
- UMass Memorial told DPH that approved projects included Proton Therapy, a Nashoba satellite emergency facility and Marlborough emergency work.
- The 990 lists Quinsigamond Realty LLC as a controlled real-estate disregarded entity with $28.25 million assets.
- Worcester University Campus space is largely owned by the University and used under a 99-year occupancy agreement terminating in 2097.
Document anomaly: the DPH staff report's quoted CPA conclusion says projections were “likely to have a negative impact” on patients or cause asset liquidation, even though the surrounding analysis finds feasibility and the project was recommended for approval. The sentence appears internally inconsistent and should be clarified with DPH/BDO rather than silently corrected.
12. Affiliates, joint ventures and related-party flags
Schedule R identifies, among others:
- UMass Memorial MRI Marlborough LLC — 60%
- UMass Memorial HealthAlliance MRI Center LLC — 60%
- Central Massachusetts Comprehensive Cancer Center
- Shields Specialty Pharmacy Holdings LLC — 55.59%
- Memorial Office Condominium Trust
- Quinsigamond Realty LLC — real estate
Schedule L reports transactions with interested persons, including $2.010M to Precision Anesthesia Associates PC and $853,061 to MA Lung and Allergy PC, plus several related-person employment arrangements. It also reports three redacted “substantial contributor” contractor arrangements of approximately $14.296M, $4.010M and $361,135. Donor identities are lawfully redacted; the public record is insufficient to allege self-dealing.
13. Quality, capacity and access
Worcester Medical Center FY2024
- 816 staffed beds and 93.9% occupancy
- 45,067 discharges, 280,365 inpatient days
- 137,108 emergency visits, 1,127,729 outpatient visits
- $2.947B operating revenue, $2.890B expense, $77.1M total surplus
- 1.9% operating margin, 2.6% total margin
CMS current rating (CCN 220163)
- Overall hospital rating: 3 of 5 stars
- Mortality measures: 3 better than national, 4 same, 1 worse
- Safety measures: 2 better, 6 same, none worse
- Readmission measures: none better, 10 same, 1 worse
CMS does not publish a current separate General Information record for Memorial Campus; CHIA continues to track campus-level organizational identities. This is a reporting-structure issue, not proof the campus disappeared.
14. Audits, enforcement and litigation
2025 Massachusetts state audit — disputed $6.2M grant trail
The State Auditor said UMass Memorial could not provide accounting records documenting how $6,200,807 of EOHHS grants were spent. UMass Memorial later said the funds reimbursed COVID appreciation bonuses for 13,520 employees, ranging $125–$500, supported by a spreadsheet totaling about $10.6 million. The auditor said the spreadsheet did not trace grant dollars through the accounting system and argued the funds could have supported workforce needs such as the Leominster maternity service.
UMass Memorial disputed the conclusion, saying the grants allowed broad COVID workforce-retention uses and that EOHHS required margin reports rather than transaction-level accounting. EOHHS agreed accounting records should exist but said it had no evidence of inappropriate use and that either bonuses or maternity support could have been permissible.
Fair conclusion: confirmed documentation weakness; no final finding of fraud or misuse.
Other matters
- The bond statement discloses three putative class actions over alleged Meta Pixel transmission of patient information. Massachusetts Wiretap Act claims were dropped after a state high-court ruling; federal Wiretap Act claims were added. The outcome was undetermined in the 2025 statement.
- In 2017, UMass Memorial Medical Center paid $441,047.36 to resolve OIG allegations involving higher-paying “new patient” billing codes for established patients. This is historical and should not be presented as current conduct.
- OSHA's public database shows a 2011 complaint inspection with one serious violation and a final $1,890 penalty. It is too old to describe current safety performance.
- A 2011 NLRB charge involving alleged changes in terms/conditions and coercive actions was closed after withdrawal/deferral. It is not a current finding.
15. What could be redirected without selling assets?
The strongest options rely on recurring operating choices and captured savings, not liquidation of endowment-like assets.
A. Temporary-labor savings compact
Set a board-approved agency-spend ceiling. Divide verified savings between permanent staffing, retention and a contingency reserve. Publish agency hours, bill rates and conversion numbers quarterly.
Why feasible: temporary labor fell by $72.5M from FY2022 to FY2024. Even if much of that saving already funded permanent hires or inflation, a transparent gain-sharing rule would show how much actually reached bedside staffing.
B. Recurring pharmacy / 340B allocation
In FY2024, UMass Memorial reported $107.2M drug-cost savings, $36.7M contract/retail pharmacy net income and $51.4M specialty-pharmacy net income. Create a policy that dedicates a defined share of recurring, realized pharmacy margin—not gross “savings”—to safety-net nursing and retention.
C. Executive incentive guardrail
Condition executive incentives on measurable vacancy, turnover, workplace-safety and agency-dependence targets. Cap incentive growth when nursing units miss board-approved staffing goals.
D. Academic-contract transparency and phasing
Publish the formula, service units and annual true-up for the approximately $494.6M University relationship. Where legally permitted, phase settlement timing during operating-loss periods instead of cutting bedside positions. This requires University agreement; it is not unilateral free money.
E. Capital sequencing, not asset sales
Require every discretionary expansion to disclose: debt service, staffing requirement, expected margin, community benefit, and the bedside alternative forgone. Delay nonurgent phases when core units have unsafe vacancies—but do not mislabel capacity/safety projects such as inpatient beds as inherently wasteful.
F. Use recurring budget capacity, not volatile market gains
Build wage increases into patient-service revenue, payer negotiations, productivity improvements and recurring vendor savings. Investment gains can support reserves or one-time retention bonuses, but permanent raises should not depend mainly on markets rising every year.
16. Counterfactual wage scenarios — estimates, not findings
Assumptions: 2,940 Worcester bargaining-unit nurses, 2,080 paid hours per FTE-year, and every dollar converted to straight-time wage. Actual cost is higher after payroll taxes, differentials, overtime, pension and benefits.
| Recurring annual pool |
Gross hourly equivalent across 2,940 nurses |
Across 4,400 system RNs |
| $10M |
$1.64/hr |
$1.09/hr |
| $25M |
$4.09/hr |
$2.73/hr |
| $50M |
$8.18/hr |
$5.46/hr |
Do not present the full $91.1M temporary-labor spend or $102.3M Vaya payment as recoverable savings. Hospitals still need coverage; the realistic reallocation is the avoidable premium above the cost of permanent staffing.
17. Strongest evidence-backed case
- UMass Memorial has substantial liquidity, investment-grade access to debt and positive total results; “broke” is not supported.
- Its operating margins are genuinely thin and turned negative again in the first half of FY2026; management cannot treat all assets or investment gains as recurring payroll capacity.
- The system has demonstrated the ability to shift tens of millions from agency labor as permanent recruitment improves.
- Large recurring flows—Vaya, academic services, pharmacy/340B margin and executive incentives—deserve service-level disclosure and explicit workforce allocation rules.
- The state audit proved a material grant-documentation weakness, but it did not prove theft or fraud.
- The public cannot calculate permanent-versus-temporary nurse staffing, vendor markup or agency dependency because the necessary headcount, hours, rates and contract terms are not disclosed.
18. Open-records and board questions
- How many employed RNs, per-diem RNs and agency RNs worked each Worcester campus each month since FY2022?
- What were agency RN hours, average bill rate, vendor markup, cancellation rate and unit assignment?
- Provide the Vaya/Aya master agreement, amendments, rate cards, invoices and procurement file.
- How were the FY2022–FY2024 temporary-labor savings allocated?
- What are current nurse wage tables and both parties' complete proposals?
- What portion of FY2024 pharmacy and 340B income is recurring and unrestricted?
- What services and performance measures support each component of the University payment?
- Reconcile audited-system, 990-group and CHIA standardized results by legal entity.
- Itemize the $273.7M 2025 bond project fund and the $1.88B FY2025–FY2032 capital plan.
- Clarify the apparent missing word in the DPH/CPA conclusion on patient impact and asset liquidation.
19. Source hierarchy and limitations
Priority was given to audited financial statements/bond disclosures, IRS filings, Massachusetts CHIA, CMS, the Massachusetts State Auditor, DPH Determination of Need records, federal enforcement databases and the parties' own bargaining statements. News and search snippets were not used as proof when a primary record was available.
The accompanying source ledger records what each source proves and what it does not prove: umass-memorial-health-worcester-sources.csv.