Mass General Brigham: forensic review of the FY2024 Form 990
Prepared: July 18, 2026
Primary filing: Mass General Brigham Incorporated, EIN 04-3230035, tax year ending September 30, 2024
Purpose: identify evidence-backed governance, compensation, procurement, investment, and labor questions that nurses, workers, reporters, regulators, or lawmakers can pursue.
Executive conclusion
The records reviewed do not prove embezzlement, bribery, kickbacks, self-dealing, or another crime by Mass General Brigham (MGB), its executives, or its directors. The 2024 filing reports no excess-benefit transaction, no insider loan, and no material diversion of assets.
They do establish a concentrated set of serious accountability questions:
- At least $130.84 million went from MGB or related organizations to four companies linked to MGB directors during FY2022-FY2024. This includes $100.48 million to Suffolk Construction, whose chairman and CEO John Fish was an MGB director and is now an MGB vice chair. The 990 describes these as ordinary business transactions; it does not disclose the projects, bids, recusals, contract terms, or fair-market-value studies.
- A second public filing appears inconsistent with the tax filing. In a February 2024 Massachusetts Department of Public Health Determination of Need (DoN) application, MGB marked Jonathan Kraft as having no “business relationship with Applicant.” Yet the 2022, 2023, and 2024 tax filings report recurring lease and marketing payments to Kraft-linked entities. This may result from a narrower DoN definition, an affiliate-versus-parent distinction, or timing. It is not proof of a false statement, but it requires a written reconciliation.
- CEO Anne Klibanski’s reported compensation reached $8.41 million in FY2024, up 40.1% in one year and 56.3% in two years. Her $4.28 million bonus was 1.80 times her base pay. The filing says incentive compensation was based on organizational and individual goals, but it does not disclose her scorecard, targets, weights, or board evaluation. This is a sharp priority conflict during layoffs and a current dispute in which nurses say MGB offered no across-the-board raise while MGB says nurses would continue receiving step increases.
- MGB spent heavily on marketing, consulting, and temporary staffing. Boathouse Group received $77.25 million over three years and $32.97 million in FY2024. Randstad received $46.73 million over three years and $19.42 million in FY2024. The filing does not reveal the bill rates, markups, deliverables, competitive bids, or media pass-through costs.
- The consolidated system was not financially weak in FY2024, despite an extremely thin operating margin. It recorded $45.7 million of operating income on $20.55 billion of operating revenue, but $2.00 billion of nonoperating gains and a $2.05 billion increase in unrestricted net assets. Its investment pool was $16.28 billion. These facts do not mean every investment dollar was available for wages, but they contradict any simple claim that the system lacked financial capacity.
- Direct charity care was modest relative to the system’s scale, while broader public-benefit costs were much larger. FY2024 direct charity-care cost was $171.2 million, about 0.83% of operating expenses; after reimbursement, the shortfall was $151.0 million, about 0.74%. MGB also reported much larger Medicaid and Medicare shortfalls and $713 million of broader community-health, research, and education investments. “Charity care” and “community benefit” must not be treated as the same measure.
- The board has overlapping business and private-equity relationships that create structural conflict risk. Chair Scott Sperling is co-CEO of Thomas H. Lee Partners and serves or has served with Thermo Fisher; the 990 separately disclosed board-member-to-board-member business relationships involving Sperling and Marc Casper, Sperling and Diane Patrick, and Susan Hockfield and Phillip Ragon. These disclosures do not prove MGB bought anything from the connected firms. They show why procurement and investment conflict screens should be released.
The strongest next move is not to allege a crime. It is to demand the underlying bid files, recusals, fair-market-value opinions, executive scorecards, agency staffing rates, and conflict reviews that MGB’s own policy says should exist.
Evidence labels used
- Confirmed: directly stated in a filing, audited financial statement, court/government record, or identified party’s own publication.
- Red flag: a documented pattern that warrants scrutiny but does not prove misconduct.
- Unresolved: the public record is insufficient to decide.
- Not supported: the reviewed evidence does not substantiate the claim.
1. Entity boundary: what this Form 990 does and does not show
The linked return is for Mass General Brigham Incorporated, the system parent. It is not a complete return for Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, or every other affiliate, and it is not identical to the consolidated MGB health system.
The parent return reports $1.90 billion of revenue, $2.14 billion of expenses, $9.81 billion of assets, 9,605 employees, and $486.2 million received from related organizations. The consolidated audited system reported $20.55 billion of FY2024 operating revenue, $31.76 billion of assets, and more than 80,000 employees. Those figures are not contradictory; they describe different reporting boundaries.
The parent return has no Schedule H. That is not evidence MGB “hid” charity care. Hospital affiliates file the hospital schedules, and the consolidated audit supplies system-level charity-care information. Any hospital-specific labor or charity claim should be matched to the correct hospital filing.
Sources: 2024 parent Form 990, FY2025 consolidated audit with FY2024 comparatives.
2. Director-linked business: the highest-priority procurement issue
Three-year Schedule L pattern
| Director-linked counterparty |
Connection disclosed by MGB |
FY2022 |
FY2023 |
FY2024 |
Three-year total |
Service |
| Suffolk Construction |
Director John Fish |
$24,383,829 |
$27,128,876 |
$48,964,572 |
$100,477,277 |
Construction services |
| NPP Development |
Director Jonathan Kraft |
$7,253,218 |
$8,303,375 |
$8,210,840 |
$23,767,433 |
Lease |
| NPS LLC |
Director Jonathan Kraft |
$1,500,000 |
$1,500,000 |
$1,500,000 |
$4,500,000 |
Marketing |
| InterSystems |
Director Phillip Ragon |
$675,313 |
$708,539 |
$709,351 |
$2,093,203 |
Products and services |
| Total |
|
$33,812,360 |
$37,640,790 |
$59,384,763 |
$130,837,913 |
|
The IRS form treats these as “business transactions involving interested persons,” not automatically prohibited self-dealing. The concern is that the public filing gives only the counterparty, dollar amount, relationship, and service description.
MGB’s Schedule O says conflicts are reviewed by independent personnel or committees, interested people recuse, terms must be arm’s-length and fair-market value, and significant conflicts may require at least two alternative competitive proposals—or a written determination that alternatives are impractical or unavailable. Those statements create a testable document trail.
2.1 Suffolk Construction and John Fish
Confirmed: John Fish is chairman and CEO of Suffolk and an MGB vice chair. Suffolk’s own biography also identifies him as chair of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and a member of MGB’s executive committee. MGB-related entities paid Suffolk $100.48 million across three years, with FY2024 payments rising 80.5% from FY2023.
Red flag: a hospital director’s construction company received nine-figure payments while he held governance authority. The tax form does not identify the projects, change orders, competing bids, recusals, or profit margins.
Important limitation: the evidence reviewed does not show Suffolk was the general contractor for the $3.3 billion Phillip and Susan Ragon Building. Public project material identifies a Turner Construction/Walsh Brothers joint venture. Suffolk has performed other work for MGB hospitals, including the Brigham’s Hale Building, but the exact FY2022-FY2024 work behind the Schedule L payments remains undisclosed.
Sources: John Fish—Suffolk biography, Suffolk’s Hale Building project page, Ragon Building project team.
2.2 Kraft-linked lease and marketing payments
Confirmed: MGB-related entities paid NPP Development $23.77 million in lease payments and NPS LLC $4.5 million for marketing across three years. Jonathan Kraft was an MGB director. MGB publicly describes its health centers at Patriot Place, which Patriot Place says is owned by the Kraft Group; MGB is also the official sports-medicine provider of the New England Patriots, New England Revolution, Gillette Stadium, and Patriot Place.
This business setting plausibly explains the payments. It does not establish that the rent, marketing fee, term, renewal option, or sponsorship value was competitive.
Cross-filing red flag: a February 7, 2024 DoN affiliated-parties filing marked Kraft “No” under “Business relationship with Applicant,” although the lease and marketing payments had already recurred in the FY2022 and FY2023 990s and recurred again in FY2024. Fish and Ragon were marked “Yes.” MGB should identify the DoN definition it used and explain whether the Kraft transactions were omitted because they involved related organizations rather than the parent, fell outside the form’s definition, or for another reason.
Sources: Massachusetts DoN case page and filings, MGB–Patriots partnership, MGB Patriot Place contact page, Patriot Place ownership and health-center description.
2.3 InterSystems and Phillip Ragon
Confirmed: Phillip Ragon is InterSystems’ founder, owner, and CEO and an MGB trustee. MGB-related entities paid InterSystems $2.09 million during FY2022-FY2024 for products and services.
Unresolved: InterSystems is a major healthcare software vendor, so the existence of a commercial relationship is unsurprising. Public records reviewed did not reveal contract scope, license pricing, sole-source justification, bid competition, or recusal documents.
Source: Phillip Ragon—InterSystems biography.
2.4 Family-member compensation
The FY2024 Schedule L lists six family members of directors or officers receiving a combined $858,883 from related organizations:
| Interested person |
Family member |
Amount |
Description |
| T. Byrne |
Family of Susan Hockfield |
$20,000 |
Salary—MGPO |
| E. Byrne |
Family of Susan Hockfield |
$90,750 |
Salary—MGPO |
| K. Holman |
Family of Albert Holman |
$52,332 |
Salary—GHC |
| N. Nohria |
Family of Nitin Nohria |
$313,282 |
Salary—BWH |
| R. Soberman |
Family of Anne Klibanski |
$130,000 |
Salary—MGPO |
| A. Thorndike |
Family of Alexander Thorndike |
$252,519 |
Salary—MGPO |
These entries do not prove nepotism or favoritism. The necessary tests are: when each person was hired; whether the related official participated; whether the position predated the official’s board service; qualifications; salary comparables; and whether the relationship was disclosed before hiring or promotion.
3. Executive compensation and severance
Anne Klibanski compensation trend
| Fiscal year |
Base pay |
Bonus/incentive |
Other + deferred + nontaxable |
Total |
| FY2022 |
$2,417,133 |
$1,400,000 |
$1,560,566 |
$5,377,699 |
| FY2023 |
$2,389,133 |
$3,374,653 |
$238,956 |
$6,002,742 |
| FY2024 |
$2,384,133 |
$4,284,478 |
$1,739,205 |
$8,407,816 |
Confirmed: FY2024 total compensation rose 40.1% from FY2023. The bonus alone exceeded base pay by $1.90 million. The return says compensation was reviewed using independent consultants and comparability data and that bonuses were based on organizational and individual goals. It expressly says this incentive compensation was not based on the filing organization’s or related organizations’ revenue or net earnings.
Red flag: the board did not disclose the goals, weights, thresholds, actual scores, consultant, peer group, or rationale for the increase. Therefore it is not possible to determine from public records whether the CEO’s performance award rewarded patient care, labor retention, financial returns, consolidation, cost cutting, or some combination.
Severance and retirement
MGB disclosed FY2024 severance of $478,275 to Peter Markell, $810,263 to James Noga, and $244,375 to Rosemary Sheehan—$1.53 million total. Across FY2022-FY2024, disclosed severance to these former executives totaled $5.35 million. FY2024 also included $925,312 of supplemental nonqualified retirement payments to Gregg Meyer and Ron Walls.
Not supported: the FY2024 return does not report first-class or charter travel, companion travel, housing, personal services, tax gross-ups, or discretionary spending accounts. It reports taxable health/social-club dues for one unnamed key employee, without the amount. Claims of luxury air or companion travel are not substantiated by the FY2022-FY2024 Schedule J forms reviewed.
4. Marketing, consulting, staffing, and opaque service spending
Highest-paid independent contractors
| Contractor |
FY2022 |
FY2023 |
FY2024 |
Three-year total |
Filing description |
| Boathouse Group |
$14,219,019 |
$30,063,826 |
$32,971,916 |
$77,254,761 |
Marketing |
| Randstad |
$11,234,324 |
$16,073,487 |
$19,420,319 |
$46,728,130 |
Staffing |
| Accenture |
$9,102,713 |
$21,974,894 |
$17,912,713 |
$48,990,320 |
Consulting |
| KPMG |
— |
$18,563,276 |
$26,759,632 |
$45,322,908 |
Consulting |
| Huron Consulting |
— |
— |
$19,238,605 |
$19,238,605 |
Consulting |
Boathouse: payments rose 131.9% from FY2022 to FY2024. The agency publicly describes work unifying the MGB brand across 16 institutions. Its FY2024 payment exceeded the parent 990’s $30.98 million advertising expense line, but those figures are not necessarily comparable: the contractor payment may include affiliate work, media pass-through, production, or accounting-period differences. The overlap is a reconciliation question, not a proven accounting discrepancy.
Randstad: payments rose 72.9% in two years. This is material when employees are arguing that retention, staffing, and compensation are inadequate. The public filing gives no contingent-worker headcount, shift mix, pay rate, agency markup, conversion rate, or comparison with the cost of retaining employees.
Consulting: the parent return also reports $137.87 million in consulting and other service fees, $204.10 million in IT expense, and $184.74 million of miscellaneous expense. Large labels are not evidence of waste by themselves, but they make contract-level disclosure important—especially after MGB said duplicative processes and too many administrative layers contributed to its 2025 layoffs.
Sources: Boathouse MGB case study, 2025 layoffs reporting.
5. The worker-pay conflict in financial context
Current bargaining status as of July 18, 2026
- More than 4,000 Brigham and Women’s nurses conducted a one-day strike on July 8. The hospital kept replacement nurses for four additional days because, it said, their agency required a five-day minimum. Staff nurses returned July 13 without a new contract.
- Approximately 450 MGB Home Care clinicians completed a seven-day strike and returned July 15 while continuing to seek a first contract.
- The nurse union describes MGB’s position as a 0% across-the-board wage offer. MGB emphasizes existing contractual step increases and says the union’s package would add more than $90 million annually. These are different measures. “No across-the-board raise” is not identical to “no employee receives any wage increase.”
- Public reporting described the union’s then-current wage request as approximately 7% over 18 months in addition to existing step increases. MGB also sought a 2.5-percentage-point increase in nurses’ premium share. The exact latest proposals and cost models were not public in the records reviewed.
The union’s moral argument is strengthened by the CEO’s 40.1% compensation increase, $2.00 billion of FY2024 nonoperating gains, and the system’s large liquid investment pool. MGB’s counterargument is that FY2024 patient-care operations were near break-even and that recurring wages must be funded by recurring operating revenue, not volatile investment returns. Both facts are true; neither settles the bargaining question.
Sources: WBUR pre-strike account, WBUR strike-day account, hospital bargaining page, MNA home-care return announcement.
Important historical correction
Brigham nurses ratified a different agreement in September 2024 that the union said delivered 20%-30% wage increases over 2.5 years, depending on step placement. Therefore a blanket statement that MGB “never gives nurses raises” would be inaccurate. The present dispute concerns the successor bargaining period and the distinction between across-the-board increases, step movement, and benefit costs.
Source: MNA announcement of the 2024 ratification.
6. Consolidated finances, investments, and charity care
FY2024 audited system snapshot
| Measure |
FY2024 |
| Operating revenue |
$20.550 billion |
| Operating expenses |
$20.505 billion |
| GAAP operating income |
$45.7 million |
| Operating margin |
0.22% |
| Nonoperating gains |
$2.002 billion |
| Investment income within nonoperating results |
$1.950 billion |
| Excess of revenue over expenses |
$2.048 billion |
| Increase in net assets without donor restrictions |
$2.051 billion |
| Total assets |
$31.757 billion |
| Total net assets |
$19.360 billion |
| Liquidity pool |
$16.285 billion |
| Employee compensation and benefits |
$10.265 billion |
MGB’s official FY2024 release also presented an adjusted operating loss of $72 million after excluding $118 million of prior-year revenue. That adjustment is relevant, but it does not erase the audited GAAP result or the $2.00 billion overall gain.
The liquidity pool was not equivalent to cash in a checking account. The audit showed $1.26 billion available the same day, $8.56 billion within three months, and $9.99 billion within one year, with the balance requiring more than a year. Some assets may be internally designated or subject to market risk. Even with those qualifications, the scale demonstrates substantial reserves.
Sources: FY2025 audit with FY2024 comparatives, MGB FY2024 financial release.
Direct charity care versus broader community benefit
| FY2024 measure |
Amount |
| Direct charity-care cost |
$171.2 million |
| Reimbursement |
$20.3 million |
| Net direct charity-care shortfall |
$151.0 million |
| Medicaid shortfall |
$717.0 million |
| Medicare shortfall |
$1.671 billion |
| MGB-stated community health, research, and education investment |
$713 million |
Direct charity care represented about 0.83% of operating expenses before reimbursement and 0.74% after reimbursement. Those ratios are valid for direct charity care only. They do not measure the entire claimed public benefit or decide the value of MGB’s tax exemption.
A fair tax-exemption analysis would compare forgone federal, state, property, and sales taxes with: direct charity care; Medicaid and Medicare shortfalls using defensible cost methods; community health programs; subsidized services; education; research; and any benefits funded by restricted grants. That full tax-benefit estimate is outside the parent 990 and was not calculated here.
Investment opacity and private markets
Schedule R reports MGB Pooled Investments LLC with $16.285 billion of year-end assets and $902.3 million of MGB’s share of income. This is the pooled vehicle for system and affiliate assets; it should not be described as $16.285 billion owned freely by the parent corporation alone.
The FY2025 audit—used here as a subsequent-event and trend source—shows $18.258 billion in the investment pool and $2.134 billion of unfunded private-partnership commitments, including $1.644 billion to private equity, $106.6 million to private real estate, $89.8 million to private energy, and $291.7 million to other private alternatives or hedge funds. The audit discloses categories, not a complete manager-by-manager list, fees, side letters, portfolio companies, or conflict screens.
Red flag: the MGB chair is a private-equity executive, other directors are investment professionals, and the system allocates heavily to private markets. No reviewed record proves MGB invested with THL, Adage, or another director-linked manager. The appropriate demand is the investment-manager roster, fees, recusals, and board conflict review—not an allegation that such an investment exists.
Not supported: the 2024 parent Schedule F does not name a Cayman Islands investment vehicle or disclose foreign investment holdings. It reports about $4.82 million of foreign program expenditures. The absence of a look-through manager list leaves opacity, but the reviewed filing does not substantiate a named offshore scheme.
7. Board structure and private-equity influence
The FY2024 return reports 22 voting directors, of whom 13 were independent. Nine were not independent. That count appears internally reconcilable with the CEO/employee directors, director-linked vendors, and family-member transactions disclosed in the return. It is not a proven independence mismatch.
Schedule O identifies three business relationships among board members but gives no details:
- Marc Casper and Scott Sperling
- Susan Hockfield and Phillip Ragon
- Diane Patrick and Scott Sperling
THL identifies Scott Sperling as its co-CEO, MGB chair, and a current or former director of Thermo Fisher Scientific and multiple other companies. MGB’s present board includes numerous corporate, investment, biotechnology, construction, and defense executives. A business-heavy board is not improper. The risk is that these networks can affect procurement, investment, strategy, startup opportunities, or consolidation without the public seeing the recusals and safeguards.
Secondary reporting in 2021 said MGB declined to adopt the outright trustee-startup-investment bans or caps used by some other hospitals and instead relied on disclosure and recusal. That policy choice is relevant because MGB operates a venture portfolio and board members may encounter investment opportunities arising from hospital research. It does not show any specific trustee misused confidential information.
Sources: MGB current leadership and board, Scott Sperling—THL biography, MGB Ventures portfolio, MGB ethics and industry-interaction policies, Boston Globe trustee-investment report.
8. Bonds and construction
The parent’s tax-exempt bond liabilities rose from $3.97 billion to $4.34 billion in FY2024. Schedule K includes a 2024 D/E issue with $493.23 million of proceeds. The filing reports $369.50 million used for capital expenditures, $119.48 million for other purposes, and 0% private business use.
The audited statements give more detail: Series D proceeds refunded approximately $69.48 million of older debt and financed approximately $271.16 million of capital projects; Series E refunded $50 million of commercial paper and financed approximately $98.34 million of capital projects. Bond counsel described the financing as supporting the Ragon Building and Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital expansion.
No proven bond red flag: Schedule K’s 0% private-business-use figure and the refinancing/capital descriptions do not, on their face, show diversion. The exact vendor payments, construction change orders, and relationship to director-linked contractors still merit project-level review.
The 2026 MassDevelopment bond issue is a later transaction and should not be conflated with the FY2024 return.
Sources: Mintz 2024 bond transaction description, MassDevelopment 2026 bond announcement.
9. Regulatory and adverse-history context
These matters are confirmed context, but they should not be falsely attributed to current directors unless a source does so.
- Federal research-fraud settlement (2017): Partners HealthCare and Brigham and Women’s paid $10 million to resolve federal allegations that a stem-cell laboratory used manipulated or fabricated research information to obtain NIH funds. The hospital discovered concerns, investigated, self-disclosed, and cooperated. The named scientists were no longer affiliated. This was a serious institutional-control failure with mitigating self-reporting—not evidence about the 2024 board transactions.
- State cost-growth intervention: the Massachusetts Health Policy Commission required MGB to implement the state’s first Performance Improvement Plan after finding its spending growth presented significant concern. MGB completed the 18-month implementation period in March 2024 after implementing ten cost-control strategies; the HPC then began evaluating success. The plan targeted $127.8 million of annual savings.
- 2025 layoffs: MGB announced hundreds of nonclinical/management layoffs while citing a projected $250 million budget gap and “duplicative processes and too many administrative layers.” This adds urgency to questions about consultant spending and whether claimed efficiencies reached frontline care.
- Web-tracking privacy settlement: MGB and other defendants agreed to an $18.4 million class settlement concerning alleged use of third-party analytics tools, cookies, and pixels on public websites. The defendants denied wrongdoing. A settlement is not an admission of liability.
Sources: U.S. Department of Justice research-fraud settlement, MGB Performance Improvement Plan, HPC April 2024 implementation update, 2025 layoffs reporting, summary of the MGB web-tracking settlement.
10. What the evidence does not establish
The following claims should not be made from the reviewed evidence:
- that John Fish steered the Ragon Building contract to Suffolk;
- that the Suffolk, NPP, NPS, or InterSystems contracts were overpriced or not competitively bid;
- that Scott Sperling caused MGB to invest with THL;
- that Marc Casper caused MGB to buy from Thermo Fisher;
- that Robert Atchinson caused MGB to invest with Adage Capital;
- that a family member was unqualified or received a job through favoritism;
- that the board’s reported independence count is false;
- that FY2022-FY2024 executives received first-class or companion travel;
- that the parent 990 discloses a Cayman or other named offshore scheme;
- that MGB committed an excess-benefit transaction, made insider loans, or reported a diversion of assets;
- that investment gains are identical to recurring operating cash available for any purpose;
- that MGB gave nurses no raises in the 2024 agreement.
These are hypotheses to test, not conclusions to publish.
11. The document demands that can prove or disprove misconduct
Director-linked counterparties
For Suffolk Construction, NPP Development, NPS LLC, and InterSystems, request:
- Every master agreement, amendment, statement of work, work order, invoice, and payment ledger for FY2022-FY2024.
- Bid invitations, bidder lists, bid tabs, scoring sheets, procurement-waiver or sole-source memoranda, and losing proposals.
- Fair-market-value, rent-comparability, or pricing opinions.
- Conflict questionnaires identifying Fish, Kraft, Ragon, family interests, and controlled entities.
- Minutes and written recusal records for the MGB board, executive committee, finance committee, investment committee, audit committee, and relevant hospital boards.
- The written conflict review described in Schedule O, including the two-alternative-proposal analysis or the written finding that alternatives were impractical or unavailable.
- For Suffolk, a project-by-project reconciliation of the $100.48 million, including original award, change orders, final cost, schedule variance, and responsible MGB approval chain.
- For NPP, each property address, square footage, rent per square foot, escalation clause, renewal option, tenant improvements, operating-cost allocation, and independent rent appraisal.
- For NPS, sponsorship assets, marketing deliverables, valuation, impression or referral metrics, and any relationship between the fee and Patriots/Revolution/Gillette/Patriot Place exclusivity.
- For InterSystems, licenses, modules, users, implementation services, maintenance fees, competitor pricing, and sole-source rationale.
Contractor and labor spending
- Boathouse’s master agreement, annual scopes, agency fees, media-buy invoices, third-party pass-through amounts, procurement files, and performance reports.
- Randstad’s agreements, worker categories, headcount, hours, bill rates, worker pay rates, markups, conversion fees, vacancy durations, and cost comparison with employee recruitment and retention.
- The 2026 replacement-nurse agreement, identity of the agency or agencies, five-day minimum clause, number of replacements, bill rates, travel/housing/security costs, canceled-procedure effects, and total strike-contingency cost.
- KPMG, Huron, and Accenture scopes, deliverables, savings claims, renewals, and whether their recommendations contributed to layoffs, outsourcing, restructuring, or centralized control.
- The full current bargaining proposals from MGB and the unions, with actuarial or financial cost models separating across-the-board increases, step increases, premiums, deductibles, and staffing proposals.
Executive and investment governance
- Anne Klibanski’s FY2022-FY2024 incentive scorecards: metrics, weights, targets, actual results, adjustments, and committee votes.
- The compensation consultant’s identity, peer group, percentile targets, engagement scope, and other work performed for MGB.
- Severance agreements and board approvals for Markell, Noga, and Sheehan.
- A complete list of investment managers, funds, fees, carried interest, side letters, co-investments, portfolio-company exposures, and unfunded commitments.
- Conflict screens and recusals concerning THL, Thermo Fisher, Adage Capital, director-controlled firms, and companies in which trustees or their immediate families held significant interests.
- The policy governing trustees’ personal investments in MGB-created startups; disclosure logs, opportunity-allocation rules, recusals, and any approvals or denials.
Cross-filing reconciliation
Ask MGB and the Massachusetts DPH to explain, in writing, why Jonathan Kraft was marked “No” for a business relationship in the February 2024 DoN filing while director-linked lease and marketing transactions appeared in three consecutive IRS returns. Request the form definition, instructions, preparer correspondence, amendments, and review notes.
12. Questions for MGB’s right of reply
- Which specific projects account for the $100.48 million paid to Suffolk during FY2022-FY2024, and did John Fish participate in any discussion, recommendation, or vote?
- How many bidders competed for each Suffolk project, NPP lease, NPS marketing agreement, and InterSystems contract? If fewer than two alternatives were obtained, where is the written exception required by MGB’s disclosed conflict process?
- Why did the February 2024 DoN filing mark Jonathan Kraft as having no business relationship with the applicant?
- What measurable outcomes justified the CEO’s $4.28 million FY2024 bonus and $8.41 million total compensation?
- How much of the $32.97 million paid to Boathouse in FY2024 was agency compensation versus media, production, or other pass-through spend?
- What did the $19.42 million FY2024 Randstad payment buy, and how did its cost compare with hiring and retaining employees?
- What was MGB’s total cost for the July 2026 nurse strike and lockout, including replacement labor, travel, housing, security, canceled care, and lost revenue?
- Does the investment pool include any THL, Adage, Thermo Fisher, director-linked, or trustee-linked investment? If yes, what recusal and pricing safeguards applied?
- Why should direct charity-care spending of 0.83% of operating expense be considered adequate, and what is MGB’s independently calculated annual tax-exemption value?
- Will MGB publish the conflict reviews, bid summaries, and executive incentive scorecards with commercially sensitive terms narrowly redacted?
13. Source ledger
Tax filings
Financial and regulatory records
Governance and counterparties
Labor
Enforcement and litigation
Method and limitations
This review compared the FY2022, FY2023, and FY2024 parent Forms 990 and Schedules J, L, O, and R; reviewed FY2024 bond disclosures; compared the FY2024 filing with consolidated audited financial statements; checked Massachusetts DoN and Health Policy Commission records; reviewed official counterparty biographies and project pages; and compared union, hospital, and independent reporting on the current labor dispute.
Public Form 990 data cannot reveal undisclosed beneficial ownership, informal relationships, bid scoring, contract profitability, individual investment holdings, or private communications. No interviews, subpoenas, internal emails, procurement files, property appraisals, campaign-finance network analysis, real-estate title search, or complete affiliate-by-affiliate Schedule H review was performed. Those are the appropriate next phases if documentary access is available.
The report deliberately separates confirmed facts from red flags and hypotheses. It is an accountability roadmap, not a finding of criminal liability.